E-Book
Rating: 4 stars
Pub. Date: April 2003
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Read: 7/23/2011
Non-Fiction, True Crime

The Terrifying True Story of Cross-Country Killer Tommy Lynn Sells

Ten-Year-Old Krystal Surles Watched In Horror

As Her Best Friend Was Murdered At The Hands Of An Intruder.

Then with cold-blooded precision he brought a twelve-inch boning knife to Krystal’s throat. With a single, violent slash, he severed her windpipe and left her for dead. Miraculously, she survived and would lead authorities to the arrest of 35-year-old Tommy Lynn Sells, a former truck driver, carnival worker, and cross-country drifter…

He Aspired To Become “The Worst Serial Killer Of All Time.”

With no apparent motive and no common pattern to his inconceivable bloodshed, the elusive Sells had carved his way across the country for two decades slaughtering women, men, transients, entire families, teenagers, and even infants with ghoulish abandon.

Through The Window is more than an investigation into a crime spree that stunned a nation. It’s an utterly terrifying plunge into the unfathomable dark mind of a serial killer, and the heart-wrenching story of the brave child who finally brought him to justice.

Through extensive interviews with law enforcement personnel, prosecuting attorneys, the victims family and Tommy Lynn Sells (another serial killer with 3 names, it’s a pattern) Diane Fanning has recreated a life of crime and details the bravery of one little 10-year old, who even when doctor’s were saving her life insisted on talking to police, her goal was justice for her friend.

This is a compelling read and Dianne Fanning’s writing keeps you interested until the last page, she sticks to the facts, always telling when something has or hasn’t been able to be verified.

For readers of True Crime, I recommend this book.

Advertisements

About Belleza

I got the name Bella because my grandfather called me Suzabell. I use that as a username and my friends on the site started calling me Bella. Thus was born: Bella Foxx's Life, now known as "just a city girl" since I have made the big jump from the country and am now living in the City, UES. I like to make jewelry (check out my blog "Bella is creative" started April 17, 2008) and write. I like to do cross stitch and knit. I sew, I don't really enjoy it, but I enjoy the clothes. I like to read the Bible, books, magazines, online newspaper articles, blogs, jokes on candy wrappers, ads on the subway, billboards, backs of food boxes, lists of ingredients and recipes, cleaning directions, sayings on shirts. I post my reviews on "Just a girl, living, reading, watching, and writing", on Shelfari, Library Thing and Goodreads.. I am allergic to practically everything: grass, trees, weeds, animal dander, dust, mold, wheat, apples, nuts, fish and coconut. The fish and coconut are so serious I carry an Epi-pen and wear a Medic-Alert bracelet. And last but not least. I love the Yankees.

Comments are closed.